Connect Twitter to Socialcast [how to]

Yammer and Socialcast are two services that provide Twitter-like capabilities based on corporate email addresses. The idea is that you can communicate in short messages that are accessible only to individuals within your organization. Using groups, you can reproduce your organization’s workforce structure and augment communication methods like email, phone, and chat.

The advantage to these services is that colleagues within an organization can converse asynchronously and share ideas that, if shared publicly on Twitter, could result in a loss of intellectual capital or business opportunities.

I currently use various hashtags to repost from Twitter to Facebook (#fb), LinkedIn (#in), and Yammer (#yam). In this way, I can post to multiple platforms, depending on which circles I want to share content. I haven’t determined the appreciable differences between the two platforms, but to adequately test Socialcast, I needed to find a way to connect my Twitter account.

I was surprised not to find instructions on the Socialtext site. It took a bit of searching, but I came upon a post on getsatisfaction which provided some bare-bones instructions. Based on those instructions, I created this detailed tutorial.

Begin by locating the edit stream button on your Home stream – it looks like a gear. When you click the gear, a pop up window will provide with the option of linking your other social media content streams.

My organization chose to limit the choices to Twitter, LinkedIn, an RSS feed, or Delicious. The default site also includes YouTube, Vimeo, Flickr, Google Reader, Gmail, Slideshare, Digg, Facebook, and Last.fm.

Click the Add link for Twitter.

To authorize Socialcast to access your Twitter account, click the link. Once you’ve authorized Socialcast, return to this screen to finish.

(Note: If you remove Socialcast as an authorized site in Twitter, you’ll need to reauthorize by going to https://<yourorg&gt;.socialcast.com/oauth_consumers/twitter. This will redirect you to the correct page.)

Enter your Twitter username and a custom hashtag of your choosing (I decided to use #sc). If you do not set a hashtag to filter the stream, it will flood your Socialcast stream will all of your Twitter updates.

Click the Add button and you’re all set.

I’m not certain if protected Twitter accounts will work with this method, so if you find out, let me know in the comments.

2 comments

  1. tericee · April 5, 2011

    WAY cool. I love that you can define your own hashtag. Since I consider Yammer and SocialCast to be (sort of) the same audience, I just used #yam.

    Like

  2. Pingback: how to use twitter for marketing

Leave a Reply

